Monday, April 2, 2012

Luke Slater and DJ Nobu at Dommune

MNML SSGS are back at Dommune this Tuesday for another session and our special guest is techno legend Luke Slater! This is an event I am super excited for, especially as Slater is someone who was a very formative influence on my tastes. One of the first techno tracks that I was really hooked on was Slater's mighty remix of Joey Beltram's "Forklift". This, along with "Class Action", were two tracks that got played out very regularly in Melbourne. Luke Slater was one of the biggest influences on the Melbourne scene in the late '90s. For most of us growing up at that time Luke Slater was one of the key guys. And he still is... The first time I saw him DJ was '98 or '99, and it is amazing that even after all these years, he is still at the top of his game. So it is a real pleasure and honour to be doing a Dommune night with him.

After doing a Planetary Assault Systems livepa at Ageha last Saturday night, at Dommune on Tuesday he will be doing a DJ set under his L.B. Dub Corp guise. This is an alias that Slater has been slowly cultivating over the last couple of years with a number of releases, mainly on his own Mote Evolver label. Most people would probably know L.B. Dub Corp because of the killer 12" on Ostgut, "Take it Down (In Dub)", one of the better records from the last few years. I am very interested to hear how these sound translate into a DJ set. Joining Slater will be DJ Nobu, who I think is probably Japan's best techno DJ right now. He has a deep record bag and is a versatile DJ. Nobu will be a great accompaniment for Slater. This will be a very proper 3 hours of music...

* Register here to attend *

MNML SSGS night at Dommune
Luke Slater (L.B. Dub Corp set)
DJ Nobu

Tuesday 3 April 2012
21:00 - 24:00 (Japan time)

Tune in at Dommune or ustream

For people in other timezones, according to my calculations, you should tune in at these times (anywhere else, I suggest using this timezone converter):

Melbourne 22:00 - 01:00
Moscow 16:00 - 19:00
Berlin 14:00 - 17:00
London 13:00 - 16:00
New York 08:00 - 11:00

Come down to Dommune or tune in online. I have a feeling this is going to be a very awesome night! Special thanks to Luke, Heidy, the Clash crew and Ukawa-san for making this happen.


  1. Fantastic, will be tuning in from Sydney. Real coup to line up an LB Dub Corp DJ set.

  2. Good man Chris - that Slater remix of Joey Beltram was a favorite of mine too. Loved his deeper 7th Plain stuff also, particularly the Voigt-esque Pearl off one of those Trance Europe Express compos many yonks back. In fact, he's released so much quality stuff over the years and in so many different styles, I think a reacquaintment with his oeuvre may well be in order!

  3. ...not forgetting some of his brilliant mid-nineties Morganistic work, much of it sounding eerily like an exact audio premonition of the Berghain sound us modern heads love so... ( for proof)

  4. Would it be possible to record those sessions or is there a way to view them online at a later time? As it's a bit hard to watch them at work :)


Say something constructive, bitte. Or if you're gonna take a swipe, at least sharpen your nails.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.